This time with more feeling…

I’m starting this blog because, like most other people, I have thoughts that occasionally creep into my head and I need some way of getting those thoughts out. In my experience, few things are better for thinking with greater depth and clarity than writing. I need to write; if for nothing else, then for my own sanity/amusement.

But what to do with that writing? Where should it go in the world? To whom is my writing addressed? Who cares?

To me, all of these questions are already implied by the act of writing itself. They are all different forms of another deeper question: how to begin?

I believe in beginnings. Perhaps this is a confession and I’m more of a religious person than even I know. If anything can save me from faith, it is the plural form. I am not so foolish as to believe in a beginning (and thus, I consider myself an an-archist in the etymological sense of the term). Beginnings, should they exist, are always and necessarily multiple.

We will be as many things to the future as we are to ourselves already. We will feel more there where we were than we ever thought possible at the time. We will throw off the chains forged by the idea of a single explanation.

Dance, sing, shout, tell the truth. You’d better. No one’s going to do it for you. How to begin? In as many ways as possible. Once, again. Ain’t no once without an again.

About 11again

Used to be an academic... now I'm a washed up academic. I like cooking, blues music, black writers, and morally compromised people of all persuasions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

